Reshaping the Study of Sociology
2022 Award Winners

2022 Award Winners

We are very pleased to announce the winners of our section awards for 2022. We will be celebrating these achievements at the ASA meeting in August.

Allan Schnaiberg Outstanding Publication Award

Amalia Leguizamón (Tulane University) for Seeds of Power: Environmental Injustice and Genetically Modified Soybeans in Argentina (2020, Duke University Press) 

Honorable Mention: Colin Jerolmack (New York University) for Up to Heaven and Down to Hell: Fracking, Freedom, and Community in an American Town (2021, Princeton University Press).

Fred Buttel Distinguished Contribution Award

David Pellow (University of California, Santa Barbara)  

Mentorship and Teaching Award 

Kristen Shorette (State University of New York at Stony Brook) 

Marvin E. Olsen Student Paper Award (co-winners)

Kristen Vinyeta (University of Oregon) for “Under the guise of science: how the US Forest Service deployed settler colonial and racist logics to advance an unsubstantiated fire suppression agenda” and

Daniel Driscoll (University of California, San Diego) for “Populism and Carbon Tax Justice: The Yellow Vest Movement in France.” 

We would like to thank the committee chairs, Rachael Shwom, Sara Grineski, Alissa Cordner, and Janet Lorenzen, as well as the readers/reviewers: Trina Running, Kevin Smiley, Pierce Greenberg, Natasha Miric, Matt Comi, Casey Mullen, and Dalton Richardson, Michael Mendez, Joshua Basseches, Erik Johnson, John Briscoe, Tariq Niazi, Angela Mertig, Jennifer Givens, Annabel Ipsen, and Brian O’Neill, and members of our section council.

Link to Section Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *