Section Officers

Section Officers:

  • Chair: Jill Lindsey Harrison, University of Colorado – Boulder (2019-2020)
  • Chair-Elect: Rachael Shwom, Rutgers State University of New Jersey (2019-2020)
  • Past-Chair: Kari Marie Norgaard, University of Oregon (2019-2020)
  • Secretary: Hannah Holleman, Amherst College (2018-2021)
  • Treasurer: Lori Hunter, University of Colorado – Boulder (2017-2020)

Council members:

  • Nominations Committee Chair: Tracy Perkins, Howard University (2018-2020)
  • Policy and Research Committee Chair: John Zinda, Cornell University (2018-2020)
  • Publications Committee Chair: Joshua Sbicca, Colorado State University (2018-2020)
  • Teaching and Outreach Committee Chair: Janet Lorenzen, Willamette University (2019-2021)
  • Membership Committee Chair: Raoul Liévanos, University of Oregon (2019-2021)
  • Council Member At-Large: Emily Huddart Kennedy, University of British
    Columbia (2018-2020)
  • Graduate Student Representative: Apollonya Maria Porcelli, Brown University (2018-2020)


  • Newsletter: Lazarus Adua, University of Utah – Salt Lake City
  • Webmaster: Nathan Lindstedt, Washington State University
  • Social Media: Justin Myers, California State University – Fresno
  • Listserv Manager: Jean Boucher, University of British Columbia

Award Committees:

  • Allan Schnaiberg Outstanding Publication Award Committee Chair: John Zinda,
  • Marvin Olsen Student Paper Award Committee Chair: John Zinda,
  • Robert Boguslaw Award Committee Chair: Jill Harrison,
  • Fred Buttel Distinguished Contribution Award Committee Chair: Tammy Lewis,
  • Environmental Sociology Teaching and Outreach Award Committee Chair: Erica Morrell,

Note: A comprehensive listing of past section officers, going back to the section’s founding in 1977 and up to 2018, is available as a PDF file here.