Graduate Programs (South)

Environmental Sociology Programs

The following universities offer concentrations in environmental sociology at the graduate level (M.A. and/or Ph.D.). Environmental Studies programs are listed immediately following.

Back

  • Florida International University
    Department of Sociology and Anthropology
    Degrees offered: M.A., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Laura Ogden, ogdenl@fiu.edu
    http://www.fiu.edu/orgs/socant/
  • Oklahoma State University
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.S., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Sharon Bird, Sharon.Bird@okstate.edu
    http://sociology.okstate.edu/
  • Sam Houston State University
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A.
    Contact person: Alessandro Bonanno, soc_aab@shsu.edu
    http://www.shsu.edu/sociology
  • Texas State University
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A., M.S.
    Contact person: Chad Smith, clsmith@txstate.edu
    http://www.soci.txstate.edu/
  • University of Florida
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Brian Mayer, bmayer@soc.ufl.edu
    http://www.soc.ufl.edu/
  • University of Maryland
    Program for Society and Environment
    Degrees offered: Ph.D.
    Contact person: Dana R. Fisher (Director, Program for Society and the Environment), drfisher@umd.edu
    http://www.cse.umd.edu/
  • University of Maryland
    Program for Society and Environment
    Degrees offered: Ph.D.
    Contact person: Dana R. Fisher (Director, Program for Society and the Environment), drfisher@umd.edu
    http://www.cse.umd.edu/
  • University of New Orleans
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A.
    Contact person: H. David Allen, hallen@uno.edu
    http://www.soci.uno.edu
  • University of North Carolina – Greensboro
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A.
    Contact person: Julie V. Brown, jvbrown@uncg.edu
    http://www.uncg.edu/soc/
  • University of South Alabama
    Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
    Degrees offered: M.A.
    Contact person: J. Steven Picou, spicou@usouthal.edu
    http://www.southalabama.edu/syansw
  • Vanderbilt University
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: Ph.D. (Students earn an M.A. as they work toward their Ph.D.)
    Contact person: David Hess, david.j.hess@vanderbilt.edu
    www.vanderbilt.edu/sociology

Environmental Studies Programs

The following universities offer concentrations in environmental policy, environmental science, or environmental studies at the graduate level (M.A. and/or Ph.D.). A more comprehensive list of environmental studies programs is available at the GradSchools.com website: http://www.gradschools.com/programs/environmental_studies.html

  • Duke University
    The Nicholas School of the Environment
    Degrees offered: Masters of Environmental Management, PhD
    Contact person: Meg Stephens , meg.stephens@duke.edu
    http://www.nicholas.duke.edu
  • East Carolina University
    Institute for Interdisciplinary Coastal Science and Policy
    Degrees offered: Ph.D. in Coastal Resource Management
    Contact person: Hans Vogelsong, vogelsongh@ecu.edu
    http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/crm/index.cfm
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
    School of Public Policy – concentration in Environmental and Energy Policy
    Degrees offered: MA, PhD
    Contact person: Gordon Kingsley , gordon.kingsley@pubpolicy.gatech.edu
    http://www.spp.gatech.edu/aboutus/focusarea/eep
  • Texas State University
    Sustainability Studies
    Degrees offered: M.A., M.S. in Sustainability Studies
    Contact person: Chad Smith, clsmith@txstate.edu
    http://www.soci.txstate.edu/
  • University of Maryland
    Program for Society and the Environment
    Degrees offered: PhD
    Contact person: Dana Fisher, Director, drfisher@umd.edu
    www.pse.umd.edu
  • Virginia Tech
    Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation
    Degrees offered: PhD and MS in Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation with concentration in Human Dimensions
    Contact person: Marc J. Stern, mjstern@vt.edu
    http://www.frec.vt.edu/students/grad/index.html
  • Virginia Tech – National Capital Region
    Science and Technology Studies
    Degrees offered: M.S., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Barbara Allen, ballen@vt.edu
    http://www.sts.vt.edu/

Back