Graduate Programs (Midwest)

Environmental Sociology Programs

The following universities offer concentrations in environmental sociology at the graduate level (M.A. and/or Ph.D.). Environmental Studies programs are listed immediately following.

Back

  • North Dakota State University
    Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Emergency Management
    Degrees offered: M.S. in Sociology; M.S. and Ph.D. in Natural Resource Management and Env. & Conservation Sci.
    Contact person: Chris Biga, chris.biga@ndsu.edu
    http://www.ndsu.edu/saem/
  • Ohio State University
    School of Environment and Natural Resources
    Degrees offered: M.S., Ph.D.?
    Contact person: Jeff Sharp (faculty) , sharp.123@osu.edu
    http://www.senr.osu.edu
  • University of Illinois
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: Ph.D. (Students earn an M.A. as they work toward their Ph.D.)
    Contact person: Zsuzsa Gille, gille@illinois.edu
    http://www.sociology.illinois.edu/
  • University of Minnesota
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: PhD
    Contact person: Jeffrey Broadbent , broad001@umn.edu
    http://www.soc.umn.edu/
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    Department of Sociology
    Degrees offered: M.A., Ph.D.
    Contact person: J. Allen Williams, Jr., jwilliams2@unl.edu
    http://soc.unl.edu/

Environmental Studies Programs

The following universities offer concentrations in environmental policy, environmental science, or environmental studies at the graduate level (M.A. and/or Ph.D.). A more comprehensive list of environmental studies programs is available at the GradSchools.com website: http://www.gradschools.com/programs/environmental_studies.html

  • Michigan State University
    Envrionmental Science and Policy Program
    Degrees offered: M.A., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Joe Arvai, arvai@msu.edu
    http://environment.msu.edu/ 
  • Michigan Technological University
    Environmental and Energy Policy Program
    Degrees offered: M.S., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Carol MacLennan, camac@mtu.edu
    http://www.ss.mtu.edu/EP/index.html
  • Ohio State University
    School of Environment and Natural Resources
    Degrees offered: M.S., Ph.D.
    Contact person: Amy Schmidt, enrgrad@osu.edu
    http://www.senr.osu.edu
  • Ohio University
    Environmental Studies
    Degrees offered: M.S.
    Contact person: Nancy Manring (Director, Environmental Studies Certificate Program) , manring@ohio.edu
    http://www.ohio.edu/envstu/
  • University of Kansas
    Environmental Studies Program
    Degrees offered: Graduate Certificate in Environmental Studies
    Contact person: Christopher Brown (Director), jcbrown2@ku.edu
    http://esp.ku.edu/index.shtml

Back